THE SEARCH FOR THE LOCATION OF THE GARDEN OF EDEN

Ross Thompson
4 min readJan 20, 2022

EASTWARDS IN EDEN

pexels pixabay

Mankind has always had a mysterious fascination with the location of the Garden of Eden. Joni Mitchell’s song ‘Woodstock’ typifies that search, and the unconscious longing we seem to have to ‘get back to the Garden.’

I came upon a child of God
He was walking along the road
And I asked him, “Where are you going?”
And this he told me

“I’m going on down to Yasgur’s farm
I’m gonna join in a rock ’n’ roll band
I’m gonna camp out on the land
I’m gonna try an’ get my soul free”

We are stardust
We are golden
And we’ve got to get ourselves
Back to the garden

We are stardust
Billion year old carbon
We are golden
Caught in the devil’s bargain
And we’ve got to get ourselves
Back to the garden.

The Lord God planted a Garden eastward in Eden. (Genesis 2:8) This description suggests Eden was the district or area God chose for the location of the Garden. Now a river went out of

--

--

Ross Thompson

I am a New Zealand Citizen. living in Melbourne, Australia. I am a longtime Christian. I write kid’s fiction, and have non fiction published on various topics.